Betsy Price and Heather Laminack

Betsy Price and Heather Laminack

The Greater Fort Worth Builders Association (GFWBA) kicked-off it its 75th anniversary year on Sept. 26 at The Ashton Depot in Fort Worth. Nearly 300 members, guests and local dignitaries attended its annual Installation and Awards Gala which recognized incoming leaders, honored distinguished members, and celebrated the historic milestone.

The program was led by Bob Madeja of Phoenix Homes & Construction, a past president of GFWBA, who served as the event’s master of ceremonies. Outgoing GFWBA President Bill Bettis of Bettis Construction Inc. was acknowledged for his dedication during his term. Incoming GFWBA President Heather Laminack of Ferrier Builders was inducted by Fort Worth Mayor Betsy Price.

Laminack (previously Heather Ferrier) is the first female president at GFWBA. She is the fourth generation in her family to specialize in construction. Her great-grandfather was a stonemason who immigrated to America from Scotland with his brother in 1881 and assisted with construction of the Texas State Capitol. The brothers turned their craft into business and following generations remained in the contracting business. Laminack’s father, Don Ferrier, established Ferrier Builders.

“I am very honored and humbled to be the first female to serve as president of this fine organization. Even though my heritage comes from construction, the GFWBA helped me find my own voice and always gave me a seat at the table. I accept my presidency as an opportunity to set an example that women leaders are a norm in their world, not an exception or a special case. I hope to be able to extend a hand out to our future leaders and help them find their platform, like so many GFWBA members have done for me,” stated Laminack, who will lead the organization’s executive committee.

The 2019-2020 executive committee is comprised of the following members: President – Heather Laminack, Ferrier Builders; Immediate Past President – Bill Bettis, Bettis Construction; First Vice President – Mike Garabedian, Garabedian Properties; Secretary/Treasurer – Steve Corradi, Bloomfield Homes; Second Vice President – Cheryl Bean, B Smart Builders; Third Vice President – Bob Madeja, Phoenix Homes & Construction; Associate Vice President – Diane Nix Kessler, Nix Door & Hardware; Associate Vice President – Jared Canter, Pella Windows & Doors.

The evening concluded with an awards presentation to outstanding members in the following categories:

• Fort Worth Housing Hall of Honor 2019 Inductees:

o Jim Haddock, Haddock Interests, Inc.

o Lee Hughes, Maverick Homes

• Herman J. Smith Legend Award: Tiffany Acree, StrucSure Home Warranty

• Developer of the Year: Don Allen of Lackland Holdings/Riverside Homebuilders

• Builder of the Year: Heather Laminack, Ferrier Builders

• Rupert Pridemore Associate of the Year: Cody Wilson, Owens Corning

• Young Professional of the Year: Tony Wolff, EnergyGuard Foam Insulators

Established in 1945, 200 home builders in and around Fort Worth came together in the spirit of unity and laid the foundation for what is now the Greater Fort Worth Builders Association (GFWBA), an affiliated local association of the Texas Association of Builders and National Association of Homebuilders.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.