Winners for the 2017 annual Excellence in Architecture Design Awards for the Fort Worth chapter of the AIA will be announced on Oct. 24 at the Modern Art Museum of Fort Worth.

The awards will be announced at 6 p.m. and will be followed by a lecture by of Sheila Kennedy FAIA of KVA Matx in Boston, Massachusetts.

This year’s jury includes Kennedy, Jesse Hager AIA of CONTENT Architecture in Houston and David Richter AIA of Richter Architects in Corpus Christi.

This event is free to the public.

Kennedy’s talk draw on recent built work, and she will present and discuss material design strategies that she is developing in her practice at KVA Matx.

Her new stratefies include:

—hybridization of renewable materials, 

—re-discovery and new deployment of ancient materials in contemporary architecture

—architectural mixing of natural, virtual and constructed 'categories' of matter

—and design that minimizes carbon emissions and maximizes material experience

Kennedy is a professor of architecture at MIT and a founding principal of KVA Matx. She directs KVA’s material research division, Matx.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.